Adulthood

Finally the day has come, I am a real adult…? And no I’m not talking about turning 18, been there done that. Plus it’s just a really old teenager. I’m not sure anyone at that age should make real adult decisions, whatever those are… 

I have finally graduated from college. I am a graduate. And yet I don’t really feel qualified to type that sentence. It honestly feels like a waste. A waste of a good education on me. Someone who has no idea what to do or where to go. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a lot of fun having no direction and everyone asking what I’m doing with life now and my plans for the future. It does get difficult to keep up the look of interest in conversations when people feel the need to give me their opinions and advice. All while asking millions of questions of what my interests are. I know, I know I’m not the only grad in this position and while that is comforting to know, it’s still frustrating. Especially those who reassure me that everthing is going to work out. I know. That’s my problem. I’m not at all worried and a lot less concerned than I should be. Is it really all that terrible to work minimum wage for the rest of my life? Because right now, it doesn’t seem so bad. Also can I just put it out there that college is terrible? You attend it for 4 years (average student with minimal workload or double major, I chose the former), becoming attached and happy with all your friends, and then you are forced to leave. Usually because of a lack of money and student loan debt already being too high. Anyway, you make a new home for yourself and create friendships with people you’ve spent more time with than most people in your family. Just to have it ripped away from you when you graduate. Which is supposed to be a happy occasion and a great accomplishment. Not only that, but I do not feel prepared for the real world at all, definitely not a real job. I’m sure it’s just one of many of life’s lessons to be learned here blah blah blah… Really I just wanted to complain, because if we’re honest with ourselves that’s all we ever want in this life. That and food. And sleep, especially day sleep. And to binge watch Netflix.

Leave a comment